Essence American

September 14 – 15

A program of wonderful musical masterpieces by extraordinarily gifted American composers. The Orchesrta Nova Northwest performs an exquisite lament by Pulitzer Prize winner George Walker, two works by Florence Price — the first black female composer to have a symphony performed by a major American orchestra: her passionate and powerful Symphony No. 1, with its musical reflections of Dvorak’s great New World Symphony, and also Price’s dynamic Piano Concerto. The Orchesrta Nova Northwest welcomes the outstanding pianist Artina McCain, who also performs a delightful Dance Tribute by Ghanaian-American composer Fred Onovwerosuoke. Soloist Artina McCain, Piano FRED ONOVWEROSUOKE Dance Tribute for Orchestra and Piano Obbligato GEORGE WALKER Lyric for Strings FLORENCE PRICE Piano Concerto in D Minor in One Movement FLORENCE PRICE Symphony No. 1 in E Minor Sat. September 14, 2024, 7:30 p.m. | Reynolds High School, Troutdale Sun. September 14, 2024,, 3:00 p.m. | The Reser, Beaverton SINGLE TICKETS ON SALE AUGUST 14TH.

Learn More


November 17 – 18

Katherine Shultz, Soloist, Cello Orchesrta Nova Northwest presents a fascinating and engaging program featuring a dynamic work by Anna Clyne that draws inspiration and its title from Audre Lorde’s poem A Woman Speaks, a delightful and charming neoclassical cello concerto by Dmitri Kabalevsky featuring ONN's Principal Cello Katherine Schultz, and Igor Stravinsky’s iconic neoclassic ballet music for Pulcinella created from, and written in the style of, Baroque master Giovanni Pergolesi. Music Director Steven Byess will deliver insightful and entertaining commentary and insights throughout this delightful program. Program: ANNA CLYNE                                       Restless Oceans DMITRI KABALEVSKY                         Cello Concerto No. 1 IGOR STRAVINSKY                             Suite from Pulcinella This program is presented without intermission. Sat. November 16, 2024, 7:30 p.m. |  Buckley Center, University of Portland Sun. November 17, 2024 , 3:00 p.m. | The Reser, Beaverton SINGLE TICKETS ON SALE AUGUST 14TH.

Learn More

Resonance Nova

March 15 – 16, 2025

Resonance Ensemble — Katherine Fitzgibbon, Director Combined Choruses of: Lewis & Clark Cappella Nova Choir, Katherine Fitzgibbon, Director & Reed Collegium Musicum, Shohei Ohtani, Director   The Orchesrta Nova Northwest launches a new collaboration with the brilliant and dynamic Resonance Ensemble, a professional vocal ensemble with a mission that mirrors that of the Orchesrta Nova Northwest, who is committed to creating and presenting powerful programs promoting meaningful social change. This program will present an evocative work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw that uses excerpts of American poet Emma Lazarus’ poem The New Colossus and also addresses refugee crises, and a rarely performed work of American composer Margaret Bonds that sets W.E.B. Du Bois’ stirring Credo from his 1920 autobiography, Darkwater: Voices from within the Veil. The combined choruses from Lewis and Clark and Reed Colleges will join the Resonance Ensemble and the ONN for the mighty and majestic Dona nobis pacem of English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams, a work composed in 1936 and written as a plea for peace between the two world wars. Program: CAROLINE SHAW                                To the Hands MARGARET BONDS                            Credo VAUGHAN WILLIAMS                           Dona nobis pacem   Sat. March 15, 2025, 7:30 p.m. | Reynolds High School, Troutdale Sun. March 16, 2025, 3:00 p.m. | The Reser, Beaverton   SINGLE TICKETS ON SALE AUGUST 14TH.    

Learn More

Soloist, Yaron Kohlberg, Piano The Orchesrta Nova Northwest welcomes international competition winner and President of the Cleveland International Piano Competition Yaron Kohlberg as he performs one of the most challenging and exciting piano concertos in the repertoire, the dazzling Piano Concerto No. 3 of Sergei Prokofiev. The orchestra performs Shostakovich’s mighty, tragic, but ultimately triumphal Symphony No. 10, a musical rebuke of the oppressive regime of Joseph Stalin, written immediately after the death of the Soviet dictator. Program: SERGEI PROKOFIEV               Piano Concerto No. 3 DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH         Symphony No. 10 Sat. May 17, 2025, 7:30 p.m. | Mt. Hood Community College, Gresham Sun. May 18, 2025, 3:00 p.m. | The Reser, Beaverton   SINGLE TICKETS ON SALE AUGUST 14TH.    

Learn More